×


 x 

Shopping cart

Classic fiction (pre c 1945)

Results 81 - 100 of 2781

Classic fiction (pre c 1945)

Paperback. Set at the height of the "tulipomania" that gripped Holland in the 17th century, this is the story of Cornelius van Baerle, a humble grower whose sole desire is to grow the perfect specimen of the tulip negra. Translator(s): Buss, Robin. Num Pages: 288 pages, chronology, notes. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 128 x 17. Weight in Grams: 216.
Publisher
Penguin Classics
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2003
Edition
New Ed
Condition
New
SKU
V9780140448924
ISBN
9780140448924
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 10.99
€ 9.69

Paperback. Series: Modern Library. Num Pages: frontispiece. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 134 x 204 x 18. Weight in Grams: 250.
Publisher
Random House USA Inc United States
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2008
Edition
Reprint
Condition
New
SKU
V9780812975895
ISBN
9780812975895
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 18.99
€ 17.29

Paperback. Young d'Artagnan arrives in Paris to join King's Louis XIII's elite guards, but almost immediately finds he is duelling with some of the very men he has come to swear allegiance to - Porthos, Athos and Aramis, inseparable friends. Translator(s): Pevear, Richard. Num Pages: 736 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 195 x 129 x 31. Weight in Grams: 512.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2011
Publisher
Penguin Classics
Condition
New
SKU
9780141442341
ISBN
9780141442341
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 10.99
€ 8.87

Paperback. For years a young man known only as Philippe has languished in the Bastille, ignorant of the crime for which he has been condemned, until a visitor reveals the circumstances of his imprisonment. It is a story of concealed identity, dishonour and treachery that could destroy the French monarchy. Series Editor(s): Carabine, Dr. Keith. Series: Wordsworth Classics. Num Pages: 656 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 195 x 129 x 37. Weight in Grams: 422.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2001
Publisher
Wordsworth Editions
Edition
New edition
Condition
New
SKU
KTJ0004191
ISBN
9781840224351
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 4.74

Paperback. Thrown in prison for a crime he has not committed Edmond Dantes spends fourteen bitter years imprisoned in grim fortress of If. There he learns of a great hoard of treasure hidden on Isle of Monte Cristo and becomes determined not only to escape, but also to unearth treasure and use it to plot destruction of men responsive for his incarceration. Translator(s): Buss, Robin. Num Pages: 1312 pages, chronology, notes. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 129 x 56. Weight in Grams: 888.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2003
Publisher
Penguin Classics
Condition
New
SKU
9780140449266
ISBN
9780140449266
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 11.99
€ 9.16

Hardcover. On the day of his wedding, Edmond Dantes, master mariner, is arrested in Marseille on trumped-up charges and spirited away to the cellars of the Chateau d'If, an impregnable sea fortress in which he is imprisoned indefinitely. Escaping from the chateau by a series of daring manoeuvres, he unearths a great treasure on the island of Monte Cristo. Num Pages: 1000 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 213 x 137 x 49. Weight in Grams: 1070.
Format
Hardback
Publication date
2009
Publisher
Everyman
Condition
New
SKU
9781841593203
ISBN
9781841593203
Hardback
Condition: New

€ 26.99
€ 18.05

Paperback. For years a young man known only as Philippe has languished in the Bastille, ignorant of the crime for which he has been condemned, until a visitor reveals the circumstances of his imprisonment. It is a story of concealed identity, dishonour and treachery that could destroy the French monarchy. Series Editor(s): Carabine, Dr. Keith. Series: Wordsworth Classics. Num Pages: 656 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 195 x 129 x 37. Weight in Grams: 420. Clean copy with minor shelf wear
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2001
Publisher
Wordsworth Editions
Condition
Used, Very Good
SKU
KOG0000811
ISBN
9781840224351
Paperback
Condition: Used, Very Good

€ 4.74

Hardcover. The nutcracker doll that mysterious Godfather Drosselmeyer gives to little Marie for Christmas is no ordinary toy. On Christmas Eve, as the clocks strike midnight, Marie watches as the Nutcracker and her entire cabinet of playthings come to life and boldly do battle against the malevolent Mouse King and his armies. Illustrator(s): Arden, Kitty. Translator(s): Ardizzone, Sarah. Num Pages: 208 pages, chapter headings and b/w illustrations. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 165 x 242 x 25. Weight in Grams: 492.
Format
Hardback
Publication date
2016
Publisher
Vintage Classics
Condition
New
SKU
9780099596042
ISBN
9780099596042
Hardback
Condition: New

€ 17.99
€ 12.31

Hardcover. Features the Marvellous Captain Corcoran - he is charming to ladies, courteous to true gentlemen, death to pirates and merciless to the English. He speaks several languages, can bend an iron bar with his bare hands, and has adventured his way across the seven seas with his faithful friend Louison by his side. Translator(s): Miller, Sam. Num Pages: 272 pages, 25 b/w etchings. BIC Classification: FC; FJH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 207 x 138 x 24. Weight in Grams: 336.
Publisher
Vintage Books
Format
Hardback
Publication date
2017
Condition
New
SKU
V9781784872304
ISBN
9781784872304
Hardback
Condition: New

€ 11.99
€ 10.41

Paperback. Offering a vivid, opulent portrayal of obsession and despair, this title is also a philosophical portrait of a man and his times, expressing the failed idealism of the Romantic generation of the early nineteenth century. It presents a honest, passionate account of a young man's rite of passage. Num Pages: 320 pages. BIC Classification: FC; FYT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 130 x 22. Weight in Grams: 234.
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd United Kingdom
Number of pages
320
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2014
Condition
New
SKU
V9780141391854
ISBN
9780141391854
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 16.99
€ 13.33

Paperback. The sequel to the bestselling Martha's Girls, The Golden Sisters is a moving wartime saga that takes the reader to the very heart of a close-knit, fiery, loving family - perfect for fans of Maureen Lee, Mary Larkin and Pam Weaver. Series: Martha's Girls. Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FC; WQ. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 129 x 199 x 27. Weight in Grams: 248.
Publisher
Blackstaff Press Ltd
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2015
Condition
New
SKU
V9780856409394
ISBN
9780856409394
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 12.76

Paperback. Series: 116. Num Pages: 360 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 144 x 194 x 30. Weight in Grams: 464.
Publisher
Persephone Books Ltd
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2016
Condition
New
SKU
V9781910263068
ISBN
9781910263068
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 20.56

Paperback. 176 pages. Allegedly a rewriting from a lost German original, Ambrose Bierce's 1892 novel reads as a seamless, almost folktale-like masterpiece. Cateogry: (G) General (US: Trade). BIC Classification: FC. Dimension: 130 x 195 x 5. Weight: 120.
Publisher
Alma Books
Number of pages
176
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2008
Edition
Reprint
Condition
New
SKU
V9781847492753
ISBN
9781847492753
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 11.84

Paperback. An incomparable satirist, the author became the "laughing devil" of the San Francisco news media, for he was about as discreet as a runaway locomotive, according to H L Mencken. This dictionary presents his uninhibited irony and gift for verse parody. Editor(s): Hopkins, Ernest. Num Pages: 336 pages. BIC Classification: 2AB; CBD; FC; WH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 212 x 130 x 17. Weight in Grams: 234. Clean copy with some shelf wear, minor nicks and bumps on cover but otherwise clean
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2001
Publisher
Penguin Classics
Condition
Used, Good
SKU
KSS0003187
ISBN
9780141185927
Paperback
Condition: Used, Good

€ 4.74

Paperback. Num Pages: 328 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 186 x 123 x 25. Weight in Grams: 258.
Publisher
Honno Ltd
Number of pages
328
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2013
Edition
Reprint
Condition
New
SKU
V9781906784942
ISBN
9781906784942
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 13.99
€ 11.77

Paperback. Num Pages: 198 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 144 x 16. Weight in Grams: 262.
Publisher
Persephone Books Ltd United Kingdom
Number of pages
198
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2001
Condition
New
SKU
V9781903155127
ISBN
9781903155127
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 20.56

Paperback. Editor(s): Bernstein, Susan David. Num Pages: 278 pages, illustrations. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 213 x 137 x 15. Weight in Grams: 227.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2006
Publisher
Broadview Press
Condition
New
SKU
V9781551115665
ISBN
9781551115665
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 35.71

Paperback. Sabrina is a firebird blazing through 1950s New York: she is a woman daring to enjoy the sexual licence that men have always known. Wearing extravagant outfits and playing dangerous games of desire, she deliberately avoids committment, gripped by the pursuit of pleasure for its own sake. Series: Penguin Modern Classics. Num Pages: 128 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 128 x 9. Weight in Grams: 100.
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd United Kingdom
Number of pages
128
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2001
Edition
New Ed
Condition
New
SKU
V9780141183718
ISBN
9780141183718
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 10.99
€ 9.69

Paperback. Conjuring up a cascade of sexual encounters, this book evokes the essence of female sexuality in a world where only love has meaning. Num Pages: 240 pages. BIC Classification: FC; FP; FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 132 x 249 x 16. Weight in Grams: 180.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2000
Publisher
Penguin Classics
Condition
New
SKU
9780141182841
ISBN
9780141182841
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 12.99
€ 9.50

Paperback. Benefiting from Anatole France's meticulous historical research, this fascinating and timeless novel sheds light on a complex world of rival factions and institutions of state terror and vividly portrays the lives and psyches of ordinary people who are complicit in acts of public barbarity. Translator(s): Parmee, Douglas. Num Pages: 288 pages. BIC Classification: FC; FYT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 131 x 22. Weight in Grams: 274.
Publisher
Alma Books Ltd United Kingdom
Number of pages
288
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2014
Edition
Tra
Condition
New
SKU
V9781847493194
ISBN
9781847493194
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 10.87