×


 x 

Shopping cart

Classic fiction (pre c 1945)

Results 101 - 120 of 2781

Classic fiction (pre c 1945)

Paperback. Weaves a tapestry of daily life as seen through a magical perspective. This book combines Breton's autobiographical fact with memory and imagination, and spins a love story in modern literature. Translator(s): Howard, Richard; Polizzotti, Mark. Series: Penguin Modern Classics. Num Pages: 192 pages, 44 photographs. BIC Classification: FA; FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 129 x 12. Weight in Grams: 150.
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd United Kingdom
Number of pages
192
Format
Paperback
Publication date
1999
Condition
New
SKU
V9780141180892
ISBN
9780141180892
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 11.99
€ 10.41

Mass Market Paperback. Could the Pope have been secretly abducted? Translator(s): Evans, Julian. Num Pages: 336 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 140 x 196 x 25. Weight in Grams: 326.
Publisher
Gallic Books
Publication date
2014
Condition
New
SKU
V9781908313690
ISBN
9781908313690
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 11.99
€ 10.98

Paperback. Michel had been a blindfold scholar until, newly married, he contracted tuberculosis. His will to recover brings self-discovery and the growing desire to rebel against his background of culture, decency and morality. But the freedom from constraints that Michel finds on his restless travels is won at great cost. Translator(s): Watson, David. Series: Penguin Modern Classics. Num Pages: 144 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 194 x 129 x 10. Weight in Grams: 114.
Publisher
Vintage
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2008
Condition
New
SKU
V9780141182995
ISBN
9780141182995
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 10.99
€ 9.69

Paperback. Jerome Palissier spends many summers at his uncle's house in the Normandy countryside. There he falls in love with his cousin Alissa and she with him. But gradually she becomes convinced that Jerome's love for her is endangering his soul. In the interests of his salvation, she decides to suppress everything that is beautiful in herself. Translator(s): Bussy, Dorothy. Series: Penguin Modern Classics. Num Pages: 128 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 128 x 9. Weight in Grams: 102.
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd United Kingdom
Number of pages
128
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2001
Condition
New
SKU
V9780141185248
ISBN
9780141185248
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 11.99
€ 10.41

Paperback. St Petersburg, 1905. An impressionable young university student, Nikolai, becomes involved with a revolutionary terror organization, which plans to assassinate a high government official with a time bomb. But the official is Nikolai's cold, unyielding father, Apollon, and in twenty-four hours the bomb will explode. Num Pages: 624 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 132 x 30. Weight in Grams: 426.
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd United Kingdom
Number of pages
624
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2012
Edition
Reprint
Condition
New
SKU
V9780141191744
ISBN
9780141191744
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 16.99
€ 12.57

Paperback. WINNER OF THE 2012 ROSSICA PRIZE Bely's masterpiece novel is a tour de force of modernist style, which tells a gripping story of political terrorism, conspiracy, family dysfunction and murder. John Elsworth's Translator(s): Elsworth, John. Num Pages: 576 pages, Illustrations, maps. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 129 x 43. Weight in Grams: 476.
Publisher
Pushkin Press
Number of pages
576
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2010
Edition
2nd edition
Condition
New
SKU
V9781906548438
ISBN
9781906548438
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 16.99
€ 12.20

Paperback. It's 1965, on a small island in the South Pacific, a group of astronomers gather to witness the passing of a comet, but when a young boy dies during a meteor shower, the lives of the scientists and their loved ones change in subtle yet profound ways. Num Pages: 288 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 201 x 153 x 18. Weight in Grams: 232.
Publisher
Faber and Faber
Number of pages
288
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2012
Edition
Main
Condition
New
SKU
V9780571272860
ISBN
9780571272860
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 10.99
€ 9.42

Paperback. The next in a hugely successful series of charming English comedies set in the fictional county of Barsetshire. Series: Virago Modern Classics. Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 129 x 198 x 26. Weight in Grams: 276.
Publisher
Virago
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2017
Condition
New
SKU
V9780349007441
ISBN
9780349007441
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 11.99
€ 10.41

Paperback. Alice Barton finds adventure during a Friday-to-Monday at a grand country house in Angela Thirkell's classic, deliciously diverting 1930s romantic comedy. Series: VMC. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 127 x 19. Weight in Grams: 240.
Publisher
Little, Brown Book Group United Kingdom
Number of pages
304
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2014
Edition
New edition
Condition
New
SKU
V9781844089710
ISBN
9781844089710
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 11.99
€ 10.41

Paperback. In this delightful summertime comedy from Angela Thirkell's classic 1930s Barsetshire series, Oxford student Richard Tebben is won over by the dashing Dean family. Series: VMC. Num Pages: 288 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 128 x 198 x 18. Weight in Grams: 194.
Publisher
Virago
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2014
Edition
Reissue
Condition
New
SKU
V9781844089680
ISBN
9781844089680
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 10.99
€ 9.67

Paperback. The next Angela Thirkell novel in the hugely successful series of charming English comedies set in the fictional county of Barsetshire. Series: Virago Modern Classics. Num Pages: 384 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 188 x 198 x 30. Weight in Grams: 308.
Publisher
Virago
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2017
Condition
New
SKU
V9780349007472
ISBN
9780349007472
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 11.99
€ 10.41

Paperback. The next instalment of Angela Thirkell's brilliantly satirical English comedies set in the fictional county of Barsetshire, which began with High Rising. Perfect for fans of Stella Gibbons, PG Wodehouse or EF Benson. Series: VMC. Num Pages: 320 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 129 x 199 x 22. Weight in Grams: 260.
Publisher
Virago
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2016
Condition
New
SKU
V9780349007403
ISBN
9780349007403
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 11.99
€ 10.41

Paperback. A sparkling 1930s English romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Stella Gibbons, PG Wodehouse or EF Benson, Angela Thirkell's classic Wild Strawberries is now available as a Virago Modern Classic. Series: VMC. Num Pages: 288 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 126 x 19. Weight in Grams: 196.
Publisher
Little, Brown Book Group United Kingdom
Number of pages
288
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2015
Edition
Reprint
Condition
New
SKU
V9781844088843
ISBN
9781844088843
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 10.99
€ 9.67

Paperback. A delightfully appealing 1930s comedy from Angela Thirkell's classic Barsetshire series: the Brandons cheerfully confront matters of love, money and an ill-tempered dowager aunt. Series: VMC. Num Pages: 384 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 126 x 24. Weight in Grams: 256.
Publisher
Virago
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2014
Edition
Reprint
Condition
New
SKU
V9781844089703
ISBN
9781844089703
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 11.99
€ 10.41

Paperback. Barsetshire in the war years. The next Angela Thirkell novel in the hugely successful series of charming English comedies set in the fictional county of Barsetshire. Perfect for fans of Stella Gibbons, PG Wodehouse or E. F. Benson. Series: Virago Modern Classics. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 128 x 198 x 31. Weight in Grams: 296.
Publisher
Virago
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2016
Condition
New
SKU
V9780349007427
ISBN
9780349007427
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 11.99
€ 10.41

Paperback. A captivating comic novel from Angela Thirkell's much-loved 1930s Barsetshire series: trainee barrister Colin Keith makes an ill-advised foray into teaching at Southbridge School. Series: VMC. Num Pages: 288 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 127 x 18. Weight in Grams: 194.
Publisher
Virago
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2015
Edition
Reprint
Condition
New
SKU
V9781844089697
ISBN
9781844089697
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 10.99
€ 9.67

Paperback. The next Angela Thirkell novel in the hugely successful series of charming English comedies set in the fictional county of Barsetshire. Series: Virago Modern Classics. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 128 x 198 x 26. Weight in Grams: 288.
Publisher
Virago
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2017
Condition
New
SKU
V9780349007564
ISBN
9780349007564
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 10.99
€ 9.67

Paperback. An exclusive, never-before-collected selection of sparkling stories by Angela Thirkell that will charm, delight and entertain. Series: VMC. Num Pages: 160 pages. BIC Classification: FC; FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 126 x 10. Weight in Grams: 132.
Publisher
Little, Brown Book Group United Kingdom
Number of pages
160
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2014
Edition
Reprint
Condition
New
SKU
V9780349004303
ISBN
9780349004303
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 10.99
€ 9.67

Paperback. The first of Angela Thirkell's brilliantly satirical English comedies set in the fictional county of Barsetshire, High Rising is now available as a Virago Modern Classic. Perfect for fans of Stella Gibbons, PG Wodehouse or EF Benson. Series: VMC. Num Pages: 288 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 126 x 19. Weight in Grams: 202.
Publisher
Virago
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2014
Edition
Reissue
Condition
New
SKU
V9781844088836
ISBN
9781844088836
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 10.99
€ 9.67

Paperback. Ruth Hilton, an orphan and dressmaker's assistant, is seduced and then heartlessly deserted by the wealthy Henry Bellingham. A dissenting minister advises her to pass as a widow and be employed as a governess with the tyrannical Mr Bradshaw. However, the deceit brings grievous consequences. Editor(s): Easson, Angus. Num Pages: 432 pages. BIC Classification: FC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 195 x 128 x 21. Weight in Grams: 304. Good copy with some minor shelf wear
Format
Paperback
Publication date
1997
Publisher
Penguin Classics
Condition
Used, Very Good
SKU
KKD0007568
ISBN
9780140434309
Paperback
Condition: Used, Very Good

€ 17.95