×


 x 

Shopping cart

Fiction: special features

Results 181 - 200 of 2044

Fiction: special features

Paperback. An unprecedented collection of hard-hitting, poignant short stories written by thirteen young veterans of the Iraq and Afghanistan wars. Editor(s): Scranton, Roy; Gallagher, Matt. Num Pages: 256 pages. BIC Classification: DQ; FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 153 x 211 x 17. Weight in Grams: 260. Short Stories from the Long War. 256 pages. Editor(s): Gallagher, Matt; Scranton, Roy.
An unprecedented collection of hard-hitting, poignant short stories written by thirteen young veterans of the Iraq and Afghanistan wars. Cateogry: (G) General (US: Trade). BIC Classification: DQ; FYB. Dimension: 153 x 211 x 17. Weight: 260.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2013
Publisher
Da Capo Press
Number of pages
256
Condition
New
SKU
V9780306821769
ISBN
9780306821769

€ 17.99
€ 13.28

Paperback. The winner of the Danish Crime Novel of the Decade is a unique, deeply compelling crime novel that interweaves a murder investigation with the central mystery of the theory of evolution. Translator(s): Barslund, Charlotte. Num Pages: 544 pages. BIC Classification: FF; FYT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129 x 34. Weight in Grams: 368.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2012
Publisher
Quercus
Condition
New
SKU
V9780857380357
ISBN
9780857380357

€ 13.99
€ 10.94

Paperback. Translator(s): Lammers, Wayne P. Series: Japanese Literature Series. Num Pages: 272 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FYT. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational. Dimension: 204 x 142 x 21. Weight in Grams: 354.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2011
Publisher
Dalkey Archive Press United States
Edition
First Edition
Number of pages
272
Condition
New
SKU
V9781564786418
ISBN
9781564786418

€ 16.99
€ 15.82

Paperback. In these early Hemingway stories, which are partly autobiographical, men and women of passion live, fight, love and die in scenes of dramatic intensity. They range from haunting tragedy on the snow-capped peak of Kilimanjaro, to brutal America with its deceptive calm, and war-ravaged Europe Num Pages: 160 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 133 x 10. Weight in Grams: 120.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2004
Publisher
Vintage Classics
Condition
New
Edition
01st Edition
SKU
9780099460923
ISBN
9780099460923

€ 10.99
€ 5.54

Paperback. In this book Hemingway shares his passion for bullfighting. The technical skills are described and explained, with chapters on individual bullfighters and the bulls. This work also contains a number of short stories inspired by the intense life and inevitable death of those violent afternoons. Num Pages: 336 pages, 48pp b&w illustrations. BIC Classification: 1DSE; ASZX; FA; FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 180 x 110 x 24. Weight in Grams: 236.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
1994
Publisher
Arrow
Condition
New
Edition
New Ed
SKU
9780099909101
ISBN
9780099909101

€ 10.99
€ 6.49

Paperback. Features hunters, wives, old men of wisdom, waiters, fighters, women loved, women lost: living on the raw edge, making love, and facing the inevitable reality of death. As an introduction to the author's work, or as an overview of the themes he developed in his novels, this work presents a collection of stories. Num Pages: 176 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 178 x 124 x 12. Weight in Grams: 100.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
1994
Publisher
Arrow
Condition
New
SKU
9780099909705
ISBN
9780099909705

€ 8.99
€ 6.49

Paperback. A dazzling book of short stories from one of modern fiction's greatest and most imaginative writers Num Pages: 448 pages. BIC Classification: FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 129 x 28. Weight in Grams: 308.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2007
Publisher
Headline Review
Edition
New ed.
Condition
New
SKU
9780755334148
ISBN
9780755334148

€ 10.99
€ 6.49

Paperback. Explores the buttoned-up world of the British upper classes. This book includes stories, in which, an imaginative teenager gives a visitor the fright of his life, the ordered home of a respectable country gent is rocked to its core, and 'Laura' expresses the hope of revenge via reincarnation. Num Pages: 704 pages. BIC Classification: 1DBK; 3JJC; FC; FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 143 x 208 x 40. Weight in Grams: 508.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2017
Publisher
Vintage Classics
Condition
New
SKU
9781784871918
ISBN
9781784871918

€ 11.99
€ 10.10

Paperback. The seventeen stories in The Redemption of Galen Pike are about how little we ever know of other people and the unpredictable bonds that spring up between us when our worlds collide. Num Pages: 144 pages, black & white illustrations. BIC Classification: FA; FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 130 x 198 x 9. Weight in Grams: 118. Good copy with some minor shelf wear
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2014
Publisher
Salt Publishing
Condition
Used, Very Good
SKU
KKD0009959
ISBN
9781907773716

€ 17.95

Paperback. A collection of Vargas Llosa's short fiction whose domain is the Peru of male youth and machismo, where life's dramas play themselves out on the soccer field, on the dance floor and on street corners. The author has published many novels, including "The Storyteller". Translator(s): Kolovakos, Gregory; Christ, Ronald J. Num Pages: 160 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 128 x 11. Weight in Grams: 133. Good copy with some shelf wear, yellowing of pages
Format
Paperback
Publication date
1999
Publisher
Faber & Faber London
Condition
Used, Good
SKU
KKD0010097
ISBN
9780571162123

€ 17.95

Paperback. From her ancestors' view from Edinburgh's Castle Rock in the eighteenth century to her parents' thwarted ambitions in Ontario, and her own awakening in 1950s Canada, the author effortlessly weaves fact and myth to create an epic story of past and present, proving that fiction has much to tell us about life. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130 x 23. Weight in Grams: 262.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2007
Publisher
Vintage
Condition
New
SKU
9780099497998
ISBN
9780099497998

€ 11.99
€ 10.31

Paperback. The diverse tales selected for this volume display the astonishing virtuosity of Rudyard Kipling's early writings Series Editor(s): Carabine, Dr. Keith. Series: Wordsworth Classics. Num Pages: 240 pages. BIC Classification: FC; FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 125 x 13. Weight in Grams: 158. 2010 printing with new introduction by Cedric Watts
Format
Paperback
Publication date
1998
Publisher
Wordsworth Editions Ltd
Condition
New
SKU
V9781853261794
ISBN
9781853261794

€ 5.26

Paperback. An exhilarating, must-read novel from one of Latin America's pre-eminent writers, and author of the acclaimed masterpiece 2666. Num Pages: 604 pages, Illustrations. BIC Classification: FA; FYT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 132 x 40. Weight in Grams: 428. Good copy with some shelf wear
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2009
Publisher
Picador
Condition
Used, Very Good
Edition
Main Market
SKU
KKD0011248
ISBN
9780330509527

€ 17.95

Paperback. Features Mister, Young Tim, Aunt Mary and the beloved Hideous Mutants as they hurtle headlong out of Eden and try to find redemption in a world where love is a four-letter word and even God gets lonely sometimes. Num Pages: 176 pages, b&w illustrations. BIC Classification: FY. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 226 x 150 x 12. Weight in Grams: 227.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2002
Publisher
Top Shelf Productions
Condition
Used, Like New
SKU
KBS0000164
ISBN
9781891830259

€ 13.54

Paperback. To avoid disappointment please note this novel was previously titled THE GALLOWS BIRD. Scandinavian crime sensation and No. 1 international bestseller, Camilla Lackberg's fourth psychological thriller - for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo Series: Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck. Num Pages: 384 pages. BIC Classification: FF; FH; FYT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 128 x 27. Weight in Grams: 298. Good clean copy with minor shelf wear.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2012
Publisher
HarperTorch
Condition
Used, Very Good
SKU
KMF0000347
ISBN
9780007253999

€ 4.64

Hardcover. IN Series: SB-The German List. Num Pages: 544 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FYT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). .
Format
Hardback
Publication date
2016
Publisher
Seagull Books
Condition
New
SKU
V9780857423054
ISBN
9780857423054

€ 35.99
€ 34.11

Hardcover. A collection of five short stories from Mexican writer, Carlos Fuentes. Translator(s): Christensen, Thomas. Num Pages: 344 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 240 x 165. . Good copy with some shelf wear, dustwrapper with edge wear, remains good
Format
Hardback
Publication date
1990
Publisher
Andre Deutsch
Condition
Used, Very Good
Edition
1st
SKU
KKD0011766
ISBN
9780233985848

€ 17.95

Paperback. Presents the story of a tragic relationship between an impoverished copy clerk and a young seamstress, told through their passionate letters to each other. This title portrays a dreamer hero who is captivated by a curious couple and becomes their lodger. Translator(s): McDuff, David. Num Pages: 288 pages. BIC Classification: FC; FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 194 x 129 x 19. Weight in Grams: 216. Good copy with some shelf wear and yellowing
Format
Paperback
Publication date
1988
Publisher
Penguin Classics
Condition
Used, Good
SKU
KKD0011994
ISBN
9780140445053

€ 17.95

Hardcover. A collection of short stories which span the development of the genre in Irish literature, from the early folktales of oral tradition through Oliver Goldsmith and Maria Edgeworth to James Joyce and Liam O'Flaherty. Editor(s): Trevor, William. Num Pages: 586 pages, index. BIC Classification: FA; FYB. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational. Dimension: 222 x 149 x 44. Weight in Grams: 930. Clean copy with some shelf wear, slight foxing to ffep and edges with minor nicks and bumps on dustwrapper but otherwise clean
Format
Hardback
Publication date
1989
Publisher
OUP Oxford
Condition
Used, Good
Edition
First Edition 2nd Impression
SKU
KSS0009988
ISBN
9780192141804

€ 4.91

Audio CD. 3 previously unpublished short stories by the great Patrick O'Brian - Noughts and Crosses, Two's Company and No Pirates Nowadays. BIC Classification: FJ; FYB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 140 x 244 x 15. Weight in Grams: 112.
Format
CD
Publication date
2015
Publisher
HarperCollins
Condition
New
Edition
Unabridged edition
SKU
KSS0011412
ISBN
9780008162498

€ 7.79