×


 x 

Shopping cart

Modern period, c 1500 onwards

Results 15961 - 15980 of 24215

Modern period, c 1500 onwards

Hardcover. Num Pages: 128 pages, 39 colour & b/w illus. BIC Classification: 1KBB; 3JH; HBJK; HBLL; HBWJ. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 238 x 308 x 19. Weight in Grams: 476.
Publisher
Schiffer
Format
Hardback
Publication date
2016
Edition
2nd Edition
Condition
New
SKU
V9780870336423
ISBN
9780870336423
Hardback
Condition: New

€ 30.99
€ 23.11

Paperback. A fascinating study that uncovers an important aspect of the history of the American Revolution, this account reveals how the British Army that fought the American Revolutionaries was, in fact, an Anglo-German army. Num Pages: 296 pages, Illustrations. BIC Classification: 1KBB; 3JF; HBJK; HBLL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 229 x 152 x 20. Weight in Grams: 431.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2012
Publisher
Baraka Books
Condition
New
SKU
V9781926824123
ISBN
9781926824123
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 32.99
€ 27.31

Paperback. After Japan's attack on Pearl Harbor, persons of Japanese ancestry were the victims of frequent racist acts and culturally biased governmental loyalty investigations. This book presents the story of those Japanese Americans drafted into the army during World War II who refused to serve while their families were in internment camps. Num Pages: 200 pages, 19 illustrations. BIC Classification: 1FPJ; 1KBB; 3JJH; HBJK; HBLW; HBWQ; JFSL3. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational. Dimension: 229 x 153 x 11. Weight in Grams: 278.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2010
Publisher
University of Nebraska Press United States
Number of pages
200
Condition
New
SKU
V9780803232884
ISBN
9780803232884
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 20.99
€ 19.48

Paperback. Brings together some of the research on the Revolutionary army that has been undertaken on both sides of the Atlantic by younger historians, many of whom look to the influential work of Braudel for a model. Series: Bicentennial Reflections on the French Revolution. Num Pages: 200 pages. BIC Classification: 3JF; HBJD; HBLL; HBTV; JPWQ. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational; (UP) Postgraduate, Research & Scholarly; (UU) Undergraduate. Dimension: 229 x 145 x 20. Weight in Grams: 384.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
1989
Publisher
Duke University Press United States
Number of pages
200
Condition
New
SKU
V9780822309352
ISBN
9780822309352
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 29.99
€ 26.80

Paperback. Num Pages: 206 pages, 54 black and white photos. BIC Classification: 1DBR; 3JH; 3JJ; 3JM; HBJD1; HBW; JWT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 157 x 226 x 18. Weight in Grams: 312.
Publisher
Merrion Press
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2016
Condition
New
SKU
V9781785370618
ISBN
9781785370618
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 14.99
€ 14.18

Num Pages: 208 pages, over 500 color/bw images. BIC Classification: 1FPC; 3JJG; 3JJH; 3JJP; HBJF; HBWQ. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 227 x 288 x 23. Weight in Grams: 1364. The Chinese Army at War 1931-1949. illustrations. Cateogry: (G) General (US: Trade). BIC Classification: 1FPC; 3JJG; 3JJH; 3JJP; HBJF; HBWQ. Dimension: 227 x 288 x 23. Weight: 1364.
Publication date
2011
Publisher
Schiffer Publishing Ltd United States
Number of pages
208
Condition
New
SKU
V9780764339561
ISBN
9780764339561
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 63.21
€ 45.57

hardcover. By assessing how the military roles have evolved and by comparing them in various military settings, the author argues that certain functions must be fulfiled in every army, regardless of its ideological orientation. Num Pages: 264 pages, bibliography, index. BIC Classification: 3J; HBTB; JWA; JWT. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational; (UP) Postgraduate, Research & Scholarly; (UU) Undergraduate. Dimension: 235 x 155 x 19. Weight in Grams: 444.
Format
Hardback
Publication date
2001
Publisher
Rowman & Littlefield Publishers United States
Number of pages
264
Condition
New
SKU
V9780742511057
ISBN
9780742511057
Hardback
Condition: New

€ 185.48

Paperback. A comprehensive analysis of the changing representations of military women in American and British movies and TV programs from the Second World War to the present. Num Pages: 328 pages, 51 illustrations. BIC Classification: 3JJP; APFA; JFSJ1. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational. Dimension: 156 x 235 x 20. Weight in Grams: 474.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2011
Publisher
Duke University Press United States
Number of pages
328
Condition
New
Edition
Illustrated
SKU
V9780822348474
ISBN
9780822348474
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 32.99
€ 30.10

Paperback. Editor(s): Harvey, Elizabeth D.; Maus, Katharine Eisaman. Num Pages: 352 pages, 6 halftones. BIC Classification: 2AB; 3JD; DSBD; DSC. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational; (UP) Postgraduate, Research & Scholarly; (UU) Undergraduate. Dimension: 228 x 155 x 20. Weight in Grams: 514.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
1990
Publisher
The University of Chicago Press United States
Edition
1st Edition
Number of pages
352
Condition
New
SKU
V9780226318769
ISBN
9780226318769
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 41.99
€ 32.65

Paperback. Num Pages: 456 pages. BIC Classification: 1HFMS; 3JJPL; BM; KNXB2; TDCT. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 157 x 235 x 38. Weight in Grams: 644.
Publisher
Jacana Media (Pty) Ltd
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2017
Condition
New
SKU
V9781928232278
ISBN
9781928232278
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 23.99
€ 21.09

Hardcover. An Oral History of the ILWU. 320 pages, 50 illustrations. The International Longshore and Warehouse Union has been known from the start for its strong commitment to democracy, solidarity, and social justice. This title presents a collection of narratives that talk about the lives at work, on the picket line, and in the union of union leaders and rank-and-file workers. Cateogry: (P) Professional & Vocational; (UP) Postgraduate, Research & Scholarly; (UU) Undergraduate. BIC Classification: 1KBBW; 3JJ; HBJK; HBLW; HBTD; KNXB. Dimension: 168 x 236 x 27. Weight: 728.
Format
Hardback
Publication date
2009
Publisher
Univ of Washington Pr
Edition
annotated edition
Number of pages
320
Condition
New
SKU
V9780295988832
ISBN
9780295988832
Hardback
Condition: New

€ 118.66

Hardback. Editor(s): Goddeeris, Idesbald. Series: The Harvard Cold War Studies Book Series. Num Pages: 322 pages, black & white illustrations. BIC Classification: 1D; 3JJPN; HBJD; HBLW3; HBTB; KNXB2. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 241 x 162 x 26. Weight in Grams: 644.
Format
Hardback
Publication date
2010
Publisher
Lexington Books United States
Number of pages
322
Condition
New
SKU
V9780739150702
ISBN
9780739150702
Hardback
Condition: New

€ 165.19

Hardback. Num Pages: 413 pages, illustrations. BIC Classification: 1KBB; 3JJF; BG; HBJK; HBTB; JFSJ1; JHBD. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (UU) Undergraduate. Dimension: 241 x 159 x 789. Weight in Grams: 748.
Format
Hardback
Publication date
1999
Publisher
Ohio University Press United States
Number of pages
413
Condition
New
SKU
V9780821412664
ISBN
9780821412664
Hardback
Condition: New

€ 66.24

paperback. Annie Elliott Perrin, a northern Ohio farmer's wife, received a diary book as a gift in December 1917, as the family set out on a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Florida. Her daily notations for a year are the basis for this story of a family's life and times. Perrin's brief, practical entries center aro Num Pages: 413 pages, illustrations. BIC Classification: 1KBB; 3JJF; BG; JFSJ1. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (UU) Undergraduate. Dimension: 241 x 159 x 661. Weight in Grams: 590.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
1999
Publisher
Ohio University Press United States
Edition
Annotated
Number of pages
413
Condition
New
SKU
V9780821412671
ISBN
9780821412671
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 47.60

Paperback. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: 1KBB; 3JH; HPCF3; JKV; LNV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 216 x 142 x 21. Weight in Grams: 406.
Publisher
University of Minnesota Press United States
Number of pages
368
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2013
Edition
1st Edition
Condition
New
SKU
V9780816679591
ISBN
9780816679591
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 31.99
€ 28.98

Paperback. 'A fast-moving thriller that makes for an exhilarating read. Perfect for any fans of Lee Child' Sun HIS PAST IS UNKNOWN. HIS FUTURE UNWRITTEN. WHO IS SOLOMON CREED? The first in an electrifying new thriller series from Sunday Times bestselling author, Simon Toyne. Perfect for fans of Lee Child, and I AM PILGRIM, by Terry Hayes. Num Pages: 480 pages. BIC Classification: 2AB; 3JM; FH; FJ. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 130. .
Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2016
Condition
New
SKU
V9780007551385
ISBN
9780007551385
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 13.99
€ 10.45

Hardback. This book challenges the accepted view of the early Royal Society of London that holds that its fellows did not seriously attempt to implement Francis Bacon's program for the methodological reform of the sciences. Instead, the book shows that Bacon's program shaped the society's earliest work in important, if often contradictory, ways. Series: Writing Science. Num Pages: 312 pages. BIC Classification: 1DBKESL; 3JB; 3JD; JFCX; PDX. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational; (UP) Postgraduate, Research & Scholarly; (UU) Undergraduate. Dimension: 5817 x 3887 x 25. Weight in Grams: 613.
Format
Hardback
Publication date
2002
Publisher
Stanford University Press United States
Number of pages
312
Condition
New
Edition
1st Edition
SKU
V9780804732918
ISBN
9780804732918
Hardback
Condition: New

€ 91.63

Paperback. Editor(s): Kennedy, Merlin. Num Pages: 117 pages. BIC Classification: 1HFGS; 3JM; HBJH; HBLX; JPH; KCP. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 154 x 231 x 8. Weight in Grams: 188.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
2014
Publisher
Nova Science Pub Inc
Condition
New
SKU
V9781631174902
ISBN
9781631174902
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 80.80
€ 55.87

Hardback. .
Publisher
Stanford University Press United States
Number of pages
264
Format
Hardback
Publication date
1995
Condition
New
SKU
V9780804724241
ISBN
9780804724241
Hardback
Condition: New

€ 141.68

Paperback. This work focuses on the centrality of illness - particularly psychosomatic illness - as an imaginative construct in Victorian culture, emphasising how it shaped the terms through which people perceived relationships between body and mind, self and other, private and public. Num Pages: 264 pages. BIC Classification: 1DBK; 2AB; 3JH; 3JJ; DQ; DSBF; DSK. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational; (UP) Postgraduate, Research & Scholarly; (UU) Undergraduate. Dimension: 216 x 140 x 15. Weight in Grams: 312.
Format
Paperback
Publication date
1995
Publisher
Stanford University Press United States
Number of pages
264
Condition
New
SKU
V9780804725330
ISBN
9780804725330
Paperback
Condition: New

€ 29.99
€ 26.87

Subscribe to our newsletter

News on special offers, signed editions & more!