Shopping cart
26%OFFTed Hughes - Collected Plays for Children - 9780571209576 - V9780571209576
Stock image for illustration purposes only - book cover, edition or condition may vary.

Collected Plays for Children

€ 13.99
€ 10.38
You save € 3.61!
FREE Delivery in Ireland
Description for Collected Plays for Children Paperback. This volume contains six plays suitable for performance by children. Four were published under the title "The Coming of the Kings and Other Plays", and the other two are "Orpheus", previously only published in America, and "The Pig Organ" published for the first time. Illustrator(s): Blake, Quentin. Num Pages: 144 pages. BIC Classification: 4KHJ; YNDS; YQE. Category: (EJ) Primary. Dimension: 196 x 129 x 11. Weight in Grams: 166.
This volume contains six plays by Ted Hughes which are particularly suitable for performance by children. Four of them were published originally under the title, The Coming of the Kings and Other Plays. Added to these are Orpheus and The Pig Organ, the former only ever published in America, the latter (which was written as a libretto) never before published. Hughes enters the timeless world of folklore and fable and brings home a wonderful haul, managing to produce comedy, tragedy and magic from the same net, and then to move effortlessly between them. He makes stories from familiar elements ... Read more

Product Details

Faber and Faber United Kingdom
Number of pages
Publication date
Number of Pages
Place of Publication
London, United Kingdom
Shipping Time
Usually ships in 5 to 9 working days

About Ted Hughes
Ted Hughes (1930-1998) was born in Yorkshire. His first book, The Hawk in the Rain, was published in 1957 by Faber & Faber and was followed by many volumes of poetry and prose for adults and children. He received the Whitbread Book of the Year for two consecutive years for his last published collections of poetry, Tales from Ovid and ... Read more

Reviews for Collected Plays for Children

Goodreads reviews for Collected Plays for Children