Shopping cart

Winners from the Irish Book awards

Sample Image

Claire Byrne and John Murray of RTÉ hosted last nights Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards. More than 50 Irish authors and 350 guests people gathered together in the RDS, Dublin to celebrate the best of Irish writing. Now in it's seventh year, RTÉ Television will be broadcasting highlights from the event tomorrow (Saturday, November 24th) night on RTÉ One at 11.05pm.Renowned novelist and playwright Jennifer Johnston was presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award for her contribution to Irish literature.

The other winners on the night were:

  • · Easons Novel of the Year: Ancient Light by John Banville
  • · John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice Award: Just Mary by Mary O'Rourke
  • · Ireland AM Crime Fiction Book of the Year: Broken Harbour by Tana French
  • · Avonmore Cookbook of the Year: Eat Like an Italian by Catherine Fulvio
  • · Argosy Non-Fiction Book of the Year: Country Girl by Edna O'Brien
  • · Eason Popular Fiction Book of the Year: A Week in Winter by Maeve Binchy
  • · Lifestyle Sports Sports Book of the Year: My Olympic Dream by Katie Taylor
  • · Bord Gáis Energy Bookshop of the Year: Bridge Street Books, Wicklow town
  • · Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year: The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan
  • · International Educational Services Best Irish Published Book of the Year: Atlas of the Great Irish Famine by John Crowley, William J Smyth and Mike Murphy
  • · Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Junior): This Moose Belongs to Me by Oliver Jeffers
  • · Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Senior): Artemis Fowl, The Last Guardian by Eoin Colfer

Subscribe to our newsletter

News on special offers, signed editions & more!