Old Galway

Connaught Colleges Senior Final

10th March 2005

The Connacht Colleges Senior Gaelic Football final takes place on this Sunday between St. Mary's College, Galway, and Mountbellew, who are making their first appearance in this final. St. Mary's have been there before. They won it in 1952, with a team coached by Fr. Christy Burke. In 1969, Tom Daly and Conor O'Malley were captains of a winning team coached by Bosco McDermott. Bosco was again in charge when the College won three in a row starting in 1986 with a team captained by Tommy Finnerty; in 1987 under the captaincy of Kenneth Clancy, and in 1988 under the leadership of Mairtin McDermott. Aodhan MacCarthaigh was the Captain when they won again in 1991, when the team was coached By Bosco McDermott and Liam Sammon. Last year, Greg Rogan lifted the trophy for the College on behalf of the team coached by Liam Sammon and Michael Lee.

They will again be the backroom team in charge of this year's heroes who will be hoping to emulate those captains of yesteryear. So we thought to honour those players by showing you the team of 1952 who won the trophy for the first time for Saint Mary's.

Back Row, Left to Right: Tomas O' Toole; Seamus Trayers; P. McSweeney; Seamus Kyne, who would later become a County Councillor; Father Christy Burke; P. Sloyen; Tommy Duggan; Michael John Heneghan; Seamus Cullinane, who later played for Galway; J. Joyce and Christy O'Connor, who is now the Parish Priest in Craughwell.

Front Row: Frank McMyler; M. Murphy; Ted McHugh; P. Waldron; Tom O'Shea; Mick Costelloe and Victor Ruane.

This evening, the Old Galway Society will host a lecture entitled "Sing to the Mind, Touch the Heart". It will be given by Donal Taheny, so entertainment is guaranteed. The venue is the Mercy Convent, Newtownsmyth, and all are welcome.

Please forward any queries/comments to oldgalway@kennys.ie

Back to Top